The Department of Engineering at Cambridge University is one of the largest engineering departments in the UK. It covers all branches of engineering, with particular interests in aerodynamics, turbomachinery, acoustics and combustion. The University of Cambridge is consistently ranked among the UK’s top academic institutions. The Department’s continued commitment to Equality and Diversity has been recognised by a silver Athena SWAN Award
in 2017.
Division A, which hosts the work associated with this proposal, is the Department’s centre for all research and teaching in fluid mechanics and turbomachinery. It is headed by Professor of Aerodynamics, Holger Babinsky, and contains 30 academics, around 60 research and administrative staff and well over 100 postgraduate students. The Division contributes to the undergraduate engineering syllabus for all disciplines and houses the University’s graduate programmes in Turbomachinery (Centre for Doctoral Training in Future Propulsion and Power), Energy (taught MPhil in Energy Technologies) and Nuclear Engineering (taught MPhil). The Energy, Fluids and Turbomachinery Division also hosts “The University Gas Turbine Partnership” (UGTP), which is a collaboration between the University of Cambridge and Rolls-Royce. Its remit is to provide an integrated approach to the fluid mechanics and thermodynamics of gas turbines, compression and other systems critical to Rolls-Royce by linking research in the areas of turbomachinery, aerodynamics, noise and vibration, combustion, heat transfer and advanced cycles. Its research programme involves over 75 staff and graduate students. There are similar close long-term collaborations in thermofluids with other industrial partners, namely Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Siemens and Dyson.